Polyamory and Marriage, my Short Version

I appreciate cozy domestic intimacy as much as a monogamous girl, but I’m an introvert who requires blocks of time alone. And one of the things I have always loved about being poly is knowing I can turn to my partner and say, without a shred of compunction, “Darling, I love you, but why don’t you go see your other girlfriend for a while?”

Oh man, what a great line from Mistress Matisse in her post about a month ago titled “You May Now Kiss the Bride and the Other Bride and the Other Bride and the Other Groom – Why Poly Marriage Is Never Going to Happen.”

I know that I’m always late to these things, but I think that article really does add to the realizations that I’ve been coming to. There really are infinite ways to love, infinite ways to “be”, and infinite ways to live. None are “right” or “wrong,” they just “are.” When we assume that polyamorous people want to mold polyamory to fit the current acceptable relationship models around us (cuz we have “forever” relationships leading to marriage, right?) we are doing that thing…you know…that thing that makes an ass of u and me?

Have I posted this here yet?

Yeah, so, while I can hardly call this a post of my own, there is what I’ve done today. Now I must get back to learning how to identify trees before Tuesday, because Monday I’ll be busy leading low ropes activities, belaying kids up a climbing wall, and then taking them on a night hike through the woods. And, of course, the weekend is for weekending, sillies!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Great “version” Shannon. But it’s really a “big” version isn’t it? Wonderful article by Mistress Matisse and video clip by Tillett Wright and her project. Loved it!

    Reply
    • It’s a very big picture, but with my new job, I’ve (thankfully) been to busy to write my usual long, rambling, pick-it-all-apart post about a topic that gets my attention. Glad you enjoyed. 🙂

      Reply
  2. That’s a very interesting article. Even in our commited quad, all four of us agree that we couldn’t all live together. About the best we could manage would be 2 houses situated side-by-side. We are all too individualistic to make it work in one big house.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

