“I’ve Grown”, a poem

My inspiration to write took me in another direction this week. I hope you don’t mind.

– – – – – – – – – – –

I’ve Grown

by Shannon Burton

– – – – – – – – – –

I watch
your eyes
drift down
from mine
to my

waistline.
As your eyebrows lift up,
I know what you see; you see
that I’ve grown. I see your concern,
your well-intentioned comment welling
up behind your lips. But wait. Let me explain.
It began in college, where I spent less time playing
and more time learning. Swelling with knowledge,
growing rapidly as I shed ignorance.
Then I became a teacher, shared
the things I had learned with your
children. I was filled with passion.
I grew until I was nearly bursting.
I ran away from home and found
I had grown so large, that I’d now
gained a gravitational field, which
attracted people, lifelong friends.
My gravity holds them close,
today, tomorrow, and beyond.
And then, despite a little fear,
I really did it; I let myself go.
Roaming even farther into
un-charted territory. I let
myself go to any place I
desired, and I grew and
grew. I learned, I loved.
I was loved in return. I am
heavy with happiness. I am
plump, rotund with experience and hope.
So thank you for noticing, and how are you?

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Fantastic! I love poetry that is understandable.

    Reply
  2. amy1705

     /  June 18, 2012

    thank you for this poem. I have been on a similar journey and I am very happy now and I am at my almost heaviest weight.

    Reply
  3. amy1705

     /  June 18, 2012

    Reblogged this on The Twilight Grove.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

